Vegan “Meat” Loaf with Mushroom Gravy Recipe

dsc02131

“Meat” Loaf

This was posted at Fat Free Vegan …I made a few changes, which are noted.

Ingredients:

2 cups of prepared veg broth (1 cup of Veggie broth if you are using seitan)
½ cup ketchup
2 tbsp tamari (or soy sauce) – I used Bragg’s Amino Liquids
2 cups of TVP granules – I used my Homemade Seitan and made it into ‘ground’ seitan’ by putting it into a food processor
1 cup of quick oats or bread crumbs - I used Bread Crumbs
1/4 cup ground flaxseed
1 tblsp of nutritional yeast
1 tsp each garlic granules, onion powder, oregano and basil

(BBQ topping option: 1/3 cup unsweetened ketchup, 2 tbls tamari, a good shake of liquid smoke) – Optional

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

1. In medium bowl, combine prepared broth, ketchup, tamari and TVP (seitan). Mix to combine and let stand 10 minutes until the liquid is absorbed.

2. Add remaining ingredients, except topping. Mix well

3. Pack mixture into a 9 x 5 loaf pan or a glass casserole. (Many people making this suggest just forming into a loaf on a baking sheet.)  Bake 40-45 minutes.

4. If using topping, spread on loaf during the last 10 minutes of baking. (I didn’t use the sauce on top, but I did make the Fat Free Mushroom Gravy.)

dsc02124

Tastes great with Fat-Free Mushroom Gravy and mashed potatoes.

Fat-Free Mushroom Gravy

1 cup water or vegetable broth
1 tblsp barley miso
1 Tblsp tamari
2 tblsp nutritional yeast
1/4 cup diced mushrooms
pepper to taste
1 tblsp arrowroot mixed with 1 tblsp water

Combine all ingredients except arrowroot in small saucepan; simmer for 5 minutes. Do not boil as this will kill the beneficial bacteria in miso.

Add arrowroot mixture a little at a time, stirring constantly until thickened.

Use on meatloaf, potatoes, biscuits, etc.

Enjoy!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. River (aka Pat)
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 00:30:37

    I haven’t seen a recipe quite like this one before (although i do know Susan’s site very well – maybe I missed her version [sorry Susan]_. I’m saving this to try myself soonest. I like to cook low-fat and low-salt :)

    Like what I’ve seen of your blog. I shall link to it on mine, okay? Hugz!!

    Reply

  2. Ann of pressure cooker reviews
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 09:25:54

    I am trying to be a Vegan this year as part of my healthy eating habits as I am having a hard time digesting meat. This looks like a recipe I can try…thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Pour some gravy on me | SmarterFitter
  4. Mark Gailmor
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 06:25:58

    Wow, I made this vegan meatloaf and substituted 1 cup of okara for 1 cup of tvp and reduced the liquid by half and it turned out beautifully. Also, I substituted the gravy for a miso brown gravy that I had and made some rosemary mashed potatoes to go with it. The entire dinner was a hit. I invited Mum over and she was practically in heaven. I’ve tried so many vegan meatloafs before but this was the first one that actually held together perfectly and cut beautifully. Thanks so much for posting it.

    Cheers,

    Mark

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Vegan okara “meat”loaf : Thrifty Living
  6. Trackback: 2010 in review « Hardcoreherbivore's Weblog
  7. licensed real estate brokers
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 09:22:14

    Wow! I am absolutely amazed at how terrific the stuff is on this site. I have saved this webpage and I truly intend on visiting the site in the upcoming days. This is one of the most informative information I’ve read. It really helps a lot. Thanks for sharing this and teaching some of your idea’s. Do you have a page on Twitter or Facebook cause would be grateful if i am one of your followers and fans.

    Thanks!

    Reply

  8. Marsha Von Almen
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 04:25:09

    I haven’t tried this yet, but it sounds and looks wonderful. My question, how do you make setian that is eatable? My first attempt looked like an alien brain. I tried not cooking it in liquid and it was hard. Help!! I’m allergic to soy.
    Thanks

    Reply

  9. Pharmacist Prospect
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 14:41:46

    This is a kind of issue that all of us should be aware of. I’ll keep visiting for more of your updates. I found it on search after going through a lot of other information that was not really relevant. I thought I would find this much earlier considering how good the information is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

